Although the War Memorial Hall (now part of the Institute & War Memorial Hall was not opened until 1923, November 2018 seems a fitting time to re-dedicate the War Memorial Room. The War Memorial Hall, a registered War Memorial, was opened in 1923, built by Apprentices from Tor Down Quarry with granite from the quarry, donated by the Nankivell family owned the quarry at that time
The re-dedication ceremony will be held on Saturday 10th November at 1.15pm, conducted by Reverends David Seymour and Doreen Spaey-Delacassa. Following the short service, refreshments will be served in the Reading Room of the Hall where the History Group will be displaying material relevant to the men of St Breward who served in The Great War, some of whom did not survive the War.
At 2pm, the Moorland Community Cinema will be showing Cornish Tommies (2018) a 15 minute film made by Creative Kernow, and Nurse Edith Cavell (1939) PG starring Anna Neagle, admission donations £3
St Breward has a unique link with the statue of Edith Cavell standing in St Martin’s Place, London. It has a white marble statue of Edith Cavell on a tall granite pedestal, standing in front of a granite block surmounted by a cross with a statue of the Virgin and Child. The granite for this memorial to her was quarried at De Lank, St Breward.
Following the film, refreshments will be served in the Reading Room. For more information contact Hall Secretary, Veronica Stansfield 01208 850727 email@example.com